Log in

Kansas Association
of Beverage Retailers




Log in

2021 Legislative Session Begins - Elects Leadership

Monday, January 11, 2021 4:02 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Monday, February 11, Kansas legislators gathered in the State Capitol to begin the work of the 2021 Kansas Legislative Session. Leadership elections were formalized – making history, as Representative Ron Ryckman, R-Olathe, is the first representative to win a third term as Speaker of the House and Dinah Sykes, D-Lenexa, is the first female elected to be the Senate Minority Leader.  There were speeches and welcomes all around.

The leaders are as follows:


President - Ty Masterson, R-Andover

Vice President - Richard Wilborn, R-McPherson

Majority Leader - Gene Suellentrop, R-Wichita

Assistant Majority Leader – Larry Alley, R-Winfield

Majority Whip – Richard Hilderbrand, R-Galena

Minority Leader - Dinah Sykes, D-Lenexa

Assistant Minority Leader - Oletha Faust-Goudeau, D-Wichita

Minority Whip – Pat Pettey, D-Kansas City

Minority Agenda Chair - Marci Francisco, D-Lawrence

Minority Caucus Chair – Jeff Pittman, D-Leavenworth


Speaker – Ron Ryckman, R-Olathe

Speaker Pro Tem – Blaine Finch, R-Ottawa

Majority Leader – Dan Hawkins, R-Wichita

Assistant Majority Leader – Les Mason, R-McPherson

Majority Whip – Blake Carpenter, R-Derby

Majority Caucus Chair – Ken Rahjes, R-Agra

Minority Leader – Tom Sawyer, D-Wichita

Assistant Minority Leader – Jason Probst, D-Hutchinson

Minority Whip – Stephanie Clayton, R-Overland Park

Minority Caucus Chair – Barbara Ballard, D-Lawrence

Minority Agenda Chair – Brandon Woodard, D-Lenexa

Minority Policy Chair – Rui Xu, D-Westwood

Kansas Association of Beverage Retailers       P.O. Box 3842, Topeka, KS  66604      Email KABR  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software